Career.. anyone?

Been having to think about careers for one of my modules at the moment. Not that I mind – it’s  relief not to have lots of testing variables and looking up journal articles for a minute and focus on my life.

But I really dont know what I want to do when I leave uni. The lecturers and uni people seem to assume that we come to uni knowing what we want to do and that we need a psycgology degree to get there. I dont think that – I think that I found psychology an interesting subject – not all interesting but many bits of it and I wanted to study it and not go work in a supermarket after A – levels.

What I really want to do is do something that I’m passionate about, that makes a difference in the world, or makes a point to people, stands out and is good. And get paid for it of course. We’re sposed to think about this now – I’m not the best at planning ahead. I love living in the moment. I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it.

What does everyone else want to be when they grow up?

Another thing – I just need a chat with someone and computers are good because they dont answer back, or judge you, or think you’re weird. Some people I see a lot are just getting on my nerves a lot. I feel like such a selfish cow almost – for all I know they could have worse problems than just worrying about work and rowing and nonsense. But I feel I’m being ignored a lot and criticsed for just trying to be nice.

I know we’re all different and we all have different ways of being nice and talkingto friends but I feel sometimes like I’m the only honest, truthful, moral person in the world.

I’m sorry to sound like I’m blowing my own trumpet but it’s true. I find it very difficult to lie, or be two-faced to people. I find that it’s so much easier and nicer to just be me and be fai and kind to people and you’ll get it back. If they dont like it – stuff em. But lately it seems like – why bother? Half of the people I know are so fake, or do things that I really cant see what would posess them to do?

Sorry for the rant – if that didnt make sense I apolagise. I just dont feel I cant have a proper moan to anyone without sounding like a whiny cow.

One response to “Career.. anyone?

  1. I’ve never known what I wanted to do for a career, no one thing stood out. Just started off anywhere then took opportunities until I found something I enjoyed and was good at. Working in factories made me realise I hate being stuck inside with people watching over my shoulder all the time. Glad I ended up doing coaches, an idea that came to me a few years ago so I gave it a shot and now I’m happy being out and about, and being in charge.
    try not to think about it too hard, when your ideal career comes your way you’ll realise I guess.

Leave a Reply

